Our History

Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, formerly Ogun State Polytechnic, Abeokuta was established in January 1979. Although the idea of the Polytechnic was originally conceived by Brigadier Harris Eghagha, the government of Chief Olabisi Onabanjo saw it through. Thus, the defunct House of Assembly enacted the act cited as “the Ogun State Polytechnic Act No. 8 of 1980”, which provided for the Establishment, Incorporation, Constitution and functions of the Institution.


Consequently, academic activities began with a student population of 220, 29 academic staff and 5 senior administrative officers at its initial temporary sites at Oke-Egunya and Onikolobo both in Abeokuta. The Institution formally moved to its permanent site at Ojere in 1985 where it occupies 959 hectares of land.


Following the death of Chief MKO Abiola, the Polytechnic’s greatest benefactor in 1998, the Institution was renamed Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta. As a result of this, the law of the Polytechnic was repealed and a new law cited as Moshood Abiola Polytechnic Edict of May 1999 was thereafter enacted.


Although the Polytechnic commenced academic activities in fewer programmes, it now runs about 40 programmes in 26 departments in School of Business Administration and Management Studies, School of Communication and Information Technology, School of Engineering, School of Environmental Studies, as well as School of Science and Technology. The Centre for Part Time and Diploma Programmes, however, oversees all the part time courses.